Select Board

MemberTerm Expires
Osler Peterson2024
Eileen Murphy2025
Gus Murby2026


Medfield's executive branch of government consists of a three-member Select Board, its chief executive officers, who are elected to three-year terms.  The Select Board is empowered to administer and implement decisions of Town Meeting and to establish policy and guidelines for the coordination of local government operations.  The Select Board Members are assisted in their duties by an appointed full-time Town Administrator and full-time Assistant  Town administrator.

Additional Responsibilities

Under Medfield's Town Charter, the Select Board also serves as Commissioners of the Police Department and as the Town's Local Licensing Authority.  The Select Board appoints certain town officials and fills vacancies that occur in other elective positions.  They establish operating and capital budgets in cooperation with all department heads under their jurisdiction.  

The Board calls elections, draws up the Town Meeting Warrant, and publishes Medfield's Annual Report of the Town Offices.  The Annual Report contains information on all departments, financial matters, vital statistics, and elections.  Copies may be found in the Public Library, Town House, and at the Annual Town Meeting.

The Select Board must exercise leadership, anticipate and forestall problems, participate in long-range planning, relay accurate information by maintaining close touch with the media regarding both routine and significant events, make representative appointments and know their legal limitations and applicable laws.